Pubs, bars and restaurants

Pubs, bars and restaurants

Streets of Shrewsbury

You are spoilt for choice and all on your doorstep! Forget your car and walk around the town to find somewhere to eat.

There are two small pubs serving real ales on Swan Hill, for a quiet drink in your immediate locality. Both are in historic buildings with lots of atmosphere.

The Coach and Horses has a restaurant serving good pub grub at a reasonable price with a carvery for Sunday lunch. The Admiral Benbow is full of real ales!

Other interesting town centre pubs are The Wheatsheaf on High Street and The Three Fishes on Fish Street.

There is lots of information on this website. http://www.originalshrewsbury.co.uk/eat-drink

We can recommend places for you to visit but to give you a taste the following are within a few minutes walk of the apartment.

Loch Fyne Restaurant www.lochfyne.com
Golden Cross Hotel  www.goldencrosshotel.co.uk
Number 4 Butcher Row  www.number-four.com
La Dolce Vita  www.ladolcevitashrewsbury.co.uk
Henry Tudor House  www.henrytudorhouse.com
House of the Rising Sun www.hotrs.co.uk
Carluccios www.carluccios.com/restaurants/shrewsbury
C Sons www.csons-shrewsbury.co.uk
Cote Brasserie http://www.cote.co.uk
O’Joy http://www.ojoywellness.com
Morgans Bar at The Exchange Hotel  www.theexchangehotel.co.uk
The ALB www.thealb.co.uk
Casa Naranjo Tapas Bar  www.casanaranjo.co.uk
Osteria Da Paolo www.osteriadapaolo.co.uk
Zizzi  www.zizzi.co.uk
Bistro Jacques www.bistrojacques-shrewsbury.com
The Lion Hotel www.thelionhotelshrewsbury.com
The Lion & Pheasant Hotel www.lionandpheasant.co.uk
House of Grain http://www.houseofgrain.co.uk
Porterhouse www.porterhousesy1.co.uk
Cromwells Bar & Restaurant  www.cromwellsinn.com
Drapers Hall Restaurant  www.drapershallrestaurant.co.uk
The Armoury  www.armoury-shrewsbury.co.uk
La Lanterna Italian Restaurant  www.la-lanterna.co.uk
Renaissance Restaurant  www.renaissancerestaurant.co.uk
Ask Italian Restaurant   www.askitalian.co.uk/restaurant/shrewsbury
Pizza Express  www.pizzaexpress.com
Royal Siam Thai Restaurant
Castle Thai Restaurant
Panacea www.panaceacuisine.co.uk*
Sheraz www.sherazshrewsbury.co.uk*
Café Saffron www.cafesaffron.co.uk*
The Curry House www.thecurryhouseshrewsbury.co.uk*
*These have takeaway facilities and we have put their menus in the information folder in the apartment.
The Town Fryer, Claremont Street – fish and chip shop
The Drayton, Shoplatch – fish and chip shop www.thedraytonrestaurant.co.uk

 

Slightly further away –  10 to 15 minute walk – and well worth it:

Istanbul Restaurant, Frankwell www.istanbulbbqrestaurant.com
The Peach Tree Restaurant, Abbey Foregate  www.thepeachtree.co.uk
Momo-no-ki, ramen noodle bar, Abbey Foregate  www.momonoki.co.uk
Havana Republic, Abbey Foregate  www.havanarepublic.co.uk

And then there are lots of lovely places a few miles away  – ask when you get here but we recommend you stay in Shrewsbury town centre and enjoy what is on your doorstep.

 

Day time cafes

There are lots of lovely day time only cafes in the town centre, these are our personal favourites:

Ginger & Co http://www.gingerandcoffee.co.uk

Stop in the museum, The Square www.shrewsburymuseum.org.uk/food-and-drink
The Good Life Wholefood Restaurant, Barracks Passage, Off Wyle Cop www.goodlife-shrewsbury.co.uk
The Galley, Princess Street
Number 4 Butcher Row (open on Friday and Saturday evenings) www.number-four.com
Libertine, Butcher Row (cocktail bar in the evening)
The Old Market Hall Cafe, The Square www.oldmarkethall.co.uk/eat-drink/cafebar
Camellias Tea Rooms, St Alkmunds Square www.camelliastearooms.co.uk/food-and-drink/camellias-tearooms
Bear Steps Cafe, Bear Steps

Twitter @Shrewsburyhols